The Chhattisgarh

Beyond The Region

BJP releases 1st list of candidates for Haryana polls, CM Khattar to contest from Karnal

A day after conducting the Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting, the BJP on Monday released the first list of candidates for Haryana assembly polls.

According to the list, Haryana CM ML Khattar will be contesting from Karnal. Also, wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt will be contesting from Baroda, ex-hockey captain Sandeep Singh from Pehowa, and wrestler Babita Phogat will contest from Dadri.

The BJP convened its CEC meeting on Sunday where candidates for Maharashtra and Haryana assembly elections were finalised.

The meeting was chaired by BJP president and Union Home Minister Amit Shah and Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with working president JP Nadda were also in attendance.

The CEC was delayed as the Prime Minister was away in the United States for more than a week and returned on Saturday evening.

According to the list of candidates, seven existing MLAs were not given a ticket while 38 sitting MLAs were given a ticket. The saffron party also gave tickets to nine women and two Muslim candidates.

Haryana is going to polls on October 21. The last day for filing nomination is October 4. The final results will be declared on October 24 after counting of votes.

%d bloggers like this: