The Chhattisgarh

Beyond The Region

Commonwealth Games 2022: Neeraj Chopra or PV Sindhu, who will be India’s flag-bearer in opening ceremony? | Other Sports News

Commonwealth Video games 2022: Neeraj Chopra or PV Sindhu, who will likely be India’s flag-bearer in opening ceremony? | Different Sports activities Information

A complete of 215 athletes from India will likely be competing on the Commonwealth Video games 2022 beginning on Thursday (July 28). Olympic champion Neeraj Chopra, who will likely be defending his javelin title in Birmingham, is anticipated to be first-choice to be India’s flag-bearer for the Indian Olympic Affiliation (IOA) however his schedule for arrival in CWG village nonetheless stays unsure.

Neeraj Chopra can be the reigning champion within the Commonwealth Video games having received the gold in 2018 at Gold Coast. The 24-year previous was additionally the flag-bearer throughout the 2018 Asian Video games at Jakarta and it was anticipated that the IOA will as soon as once more title the athlete because the flag-bearer at Birmingham.

The Indian javelin star may attain Birmingham at a a lot later date since his Javelin occasion qualification spherical is scheduled to be held on August 5.

Subsequent cease Birmingham [?][?]

Cheer for [?] Neeraj Chopra at #B2022, beginning 28 July throughout DD Sports activities (DD Free Dish)
— Doordarshan Sports activities (@ddsportschannel) July 25, 2022

“We will likely be checking Neeraj Chopra’s itinerary. At this time his competitors has completed, in subsequent 24 hours we are going to resolve who will likely be India’s flag bearer on the opening ceremony,” Anil Khanna, performing president of IOA was quoted as saying by InsideSport web site.

If Neeraj Chopra makes himself unavailable then the IOA is anticipated to present this obligation to two-time Olympic medallist PV Sindhu.

The shuttlers have reached the Video games village since their occasions will start from the primary day. It’s to be famous that Sindhu was the flag-bearer on the opening ceremony of the 2018 Commonwealth Video games at Gold Coast. She received the silver medal in girls’s singles in that version and can now look so as to add the Gold medal to her medal assortment.

Aside from Sindhu different names like Tokyo Olympic Silver medallists wrestler Ravi Kumar Dahiya and weighlifters Mirabai Chanu or boxer Lovlina Borgohain who received the Tokyo Olympic Bronze medal and reigning world champion Nikhat Zareen even have an opportunity to be chosen because the flag-bearer.

Neeraj Chopra added yet one more feather to his hat as he turned the primary Indian man to win a medal within the World Athletics Championships. He clinched silver in Javelin throw with a greatest throw of 88.13 m within the Javelin throw ultimate, which was held at Eugene in Oregon, USA. Chopra is a favorite to win his second successive gold medal on the CWG 2022.

Bisheshwar Nandi named girls’s gymnastic workforce coach for CWG

Gymnastics coach Bisheshwar Nandi, who guided Dipa Karmakar to a historic fourth place end on the 2016 Rio Olympics, has been named coach of the Indian girls’s workforce for the Commonwealth Video games in Birmingham rather than controversial Rohit Jaiswal.

Jaiswal, who was earlier designated as the ladies’s workforce coach, was dropped from the CWG-bound workforce after he was accused by gymnast Aruna Budda Reddy for videographing her with out her consent. “I’ve finished my biometrics a day earlier than and am anticipating my visa to reach by tomorrow. I’ll be part of the workforce by July 29,” Nandi instructed information company PTI from the nationwide camp in New Delhi.

Jaiswal’s exclusion could possibly be a setback for her ward and India medal hopeful Pranati Nayak however Nandi stated he would care for each workforce member. “It could not be a difficulty as I’ve identified them for a few years now. Additionally, I’ve my ward Protistha Samanta whom I’ve skilled over time and she or he can be fairly promising after her World Cup stint in Egypt and Azerbaijan earlier this yr,” he added.

Indian Gymnastics Squad:

Males’s: Satyajit Mondal, Yogeshwar Singh and Saif Tamboli.

Ladies’s: Pranati Nayak, Ruthuja Nataraj, Protishta Samanta, Bavleen Kaur.

(with PTI inputs)

%d bloggers like this: