The Chhattisgarh

Beyond The Region

From Pavan Varma to Babul Supriyo: Listing of leaders who converted to TMC just lately

Following its resounding victory in Meeting elections in West Bengal, the Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress (TMC) has seen regular stream of leaders becoming a member of its ranks after leaping the boat from BJP and Congress.
Congress chief Kirti Azad, former Haryana Congress president Ashok Tanwar, and former JD(U) MP Pavan Varma had been among the many newest to affix the occasion. They had been formally inducted into the occasion within the presence of CM Banerjee in New Delhi.
Azad, who switched from the BJP to the Congress in 2019, was reported to be upset with the Congress management, particularly Rahul Gandhi. In accordance with sources, Azad believes that the one chief who may give formidable problem to the Narendra Modi-led BJP is Banerjee.
In the meantime, Varma joined TMC, saying it was the necessity of the hour to work for strengthening the Opposition. Varma, together with Prashant Kishor, was expelled from the JD(U) final 12 months after the 2 stepped up assaults on its alliance companion BJP over the Citizenship Modification Act (CAA). However, Tanwar had left the Congress forward of the 2019 Meeting polls after a bitter political struggle with former Haryana Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda.
In September, former Union Minister of State and BJP MP Babul Supriyo, who was eliminated as a part of a significant rejig within the Narendra Modi Council of Ministers in July, joined TMC. He admitted that he was dissatisfied at what had occurred regardless of his “arduous work and good work”.
Earlier in June, former BJP nationwide vice-president Mukul Roy, alongside along with his son and former MLA Subhrangshu, had returned to the TMC. A number of native leaders and a handful of MLAs from BJP had converted to the TMC submit the thumping victory of the Mamata Banerjee-led occasion within the Meeting elections.
Goa seems to be one of many key focus space for TMC. Forward of Meeting elections, the coastal state is witnessing a number of leaders becoming a member of Banerjee’s group prior to now months with former Goa Chief Minister and veteran Congress chief Luizinho Faleiro main the flock. In accordance with TMC sources, together with Faleiro, 9 different leaders — Lavoo Mamledar, Yatish Naik, Vijay Vasudev Poi, Mario Pinto De Santana, Anand Naik, Rabindranath Faleiro, Shivdas Sonu Naik, Rajendra Shivaji Kakodkar and Antonio Monteiro Clovis Da Costa had joined the occasion.
Whereas becoming a member of TMC, Faleiro had mentioned, “I’m becoming a member of TMC to defeat BJP. Goa is struggling beneath BJP and is in a really dangerous form. Goa wants Didi (Mamata Banerjee). We requested her to return to Goa and assist Goans to guard their tradition and heritage.”
Tennis veteran Leander Paes had joined the TMC in October in presence of Banerjee in Goa. Actor and activist Nafisa Ali additionally joined the Trinamool Congress on the similar occasion in Goa. “Glad to tell that Leander Paes joins TMC. I’m too comfortable. He’s my youthful brother. I do know him since I used to be the youth minister and he was very very younger,” Banerjee had mentioned whereas inducting the tennis star.
In the meantime, Goa Ahead Occasion (GFP) acquired a jolt on Sunday after its working president Kiran Kandolkar, second solely to occasion chief Vijai Sardesai, joined TMC hours after he tendered his resignation from GFP.

The TMC, newest entrant within the contest for Goa Meeting elections, inducted Kandolkar, his spouse Kavita Kandolkar and 40 others, together with sarpanches of 5 villages from Meeting constituencies of Tivim and Aldona in North Goa.
In Uttar Pradesh, two senior Congress leaders had joined TMC in October. The 2 leaders, Rajeshpati Tripathi and Lalitpati Tripathi, mentioned they’d keep it up the struggle to oust the BJP from energy in UP and the Centre beneath the management of Banerjee. Rajeshpati Tripathi is an ex-MLC whereas Laliteshpati Tripathi is former UP Congress vice-president and an ex-MLA. Rajeshpati and Laliteshpati are the grandson and the great-grandson of former UP chief minister Kamalapati Tripathi, respectively.
In Tripura, round 30 Congress and BJP leaders, together with Tripura Youth Congress’ former working president Santanu Saha, had joined the TMC in August.

%d bloggers like this: