The Chhattisgarh

Beyond The Region

Sri Lanka vs Australia: Glenn Maxwell returns to Test squad after 5 years | Cricket News

Sri Lanka vs Australia: Glenn Maxwell returns to Take a look at squad after 5 years | Cricket Information

Glenn Maxwell may make a shock return to Take a look at cricket subsequent week after the injury-plagued Australians added the white-ball star to their squad to face Sri Lanka.With Travis Head doubtful and Ashton Agar all however dominated out of the Take a look at sequence opener in Galle on Wednesday, Maxwell is within the combine to put on his Saggy Inexperienced for the primary time in 5 years as per Head, who was named participant of the lads`s Ashes earlier this 12 months, suffered a hamstring harm earlier this week within the ODI sequence whereas Agar is carrying a aspect pressure and has recognized the second Take a look at (additionally in Galle) as an earliest potential return date.

JUST IN: Glenn Maxwell has been added to Australia’s Take a look at squad in Sri Lanka #SLvAUS
— (@cricketcomau) June 23, 2022

Together with Maxwell, Mitch Marsh and Josh Inglis are the opposite choices to take up Head`s No.5 berth if the left-hander doesn’t regain health in time. Jon Holland, Matthew Kuhnemann and Todd Murphy in the meantime will all stay in Sri Lanka “to help the Take a look at match preparations and to develop their expertise in subcontinent situations” although none of that spin-bowling trio have but been added to the squad.All three have performed for Australia A on their concurrent tour, whereas Kuhnemann has been promoted to the ODI staff for the Aussies` final three video games as a substitute for Agar.

Maxwell`s recall is a present of religion in his functionality towards spin bowling given he has not performed a first-class sport in two years and eight months amid his important limited-overs commitments. All 4 of the 33-year-old`s Assessments have come on the subcontinent.

Sri Lanka Take a look at squad (provisional): Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Pathum Nissanka, Kamil Mishara, Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Dinesh Chandimal, Chamika Karunaratne, Ramesh Mendis, Mohamed Shiraz, Shiran Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Lahiru Kumara, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lakshitha Rasanjana, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya, and Suminda Lakshan.

Australia Take a look at squad: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Inexperienced, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Glenn Maxwell, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, and David Warner. 

%d bloggers like this: